– Stardust – in collaboration with OmniPsyence

  • Music: OmniPsyence
  • Lyrics&Vocals: AnbaLen

Purged out darkness merciless facing us
doubtful hopes are drawn into nebulas
there’s no place for feeble sincerity
Tongue, sweet lips and honey dripping empty

Words so shallow, carve deep into my skin
open vowels betray the lies within.
Darling, follow me, darling don’t lose the way
open your eyes,to face the light of day

Let it come together now
just open up I see ah ah
Well, there you go
creating quite the show
one touch, you stall,
brace yourself to fall
into, stardust

Ah beautiful memories
so seamlessly, they seem to gleam
Ah ah I float amongst the stars
endlessly far,to where you are,
invoke, stardust

Purged out darkness merciless facing us
doubtful hopes are drawn into nebulas
there’s no place for feeble sincerity
Tongue, sweet lips and honey dripping empty

Words so shallow, carve deep into my skin
open vowels betray the lies within.
Darling, follow me, darling don’t lose the way
open your eyes, to face the light of day

Let it come together now
just open up I see ah ah
Well, there you go
creating quite the show

Ah beautiful memories
so seamlessly, they seem to gleam
Ah ah I float amongst the stars
endlessly far, to where you are,
invoke, stardust

Comments:

This is the first time I’ve ever done vocals for a song like this and the first time I’ve had so much freedom writing lyrics.
I was even allowed to write my own melody for the entir of the “ah ah” parts haha. They came out quite poppy, huh?
Since I’m not very experienced with this genre I was a little insecure about it at first, constantly erasing and trying again. Nothing seemed to fit and I always felt it sounded awkward.

Then I woke up, sat behind my desk and decided on one thing and pulled through until I liked it!
I was even able to use the sort of “detached” poppy melodies I was unsure about for the main vocals to create the atmosphere I wanted. I’ve definitely learned something from this. The mixing and effects really finished it. I always love how playful the mixing sounds, you can hear Cory had fun with this! ;’)

Cory has been super-supportive throughout. He always received my input with enthusiasm and proper critique.
I feel very fortunate that I was able to work on this with him and learn tons from him in the process of doing so.
He’s always very patient with me /sobs/.

I did think up a story for the lyrics but I think the main image I wanted to leave is “space” and a sense of “dissonance”. That’s what the instrumentals made me feel I could go for. They made me daydream of scenes of space fights of the likes of Gundam, Star Wars and Evangelion. You’re of course more than free to interpret it as you like!!
I left the lyrics purposely image-evoking rather than “story telling” for this exact reason!
I’m definitely not great at it but I feel I’m slowly learning as I go, I hope to get better and more confident through time!!

Enjoy, stardust!!

Leave a Reply

